Duterte to scrutinize 2020 nat’l budget

first_imgMANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte is expected to carefully scrutinize the proposed 2020 national budget once it is sent to him for signature by the Senate and House of Representatives. President Rodrigo Duterte. PCOO “The public is assured that the President will carefully scrutinize whatever appropriations bill that will be transmitted to his office by Congress to ensure that the same would be in accordance with the imperatives of the Constitution and responsive to the needs of the Filipino people before it becomes a law,” he added. The Senate, in a 22-0 voting on Wednesday, has approved the proposed P4.1-trillion national budget, paving the way for a bicameral conference composed of senators and congressmen who will reconcile the disagreeing provisions in the budget bill. Presidential spokesperson Salvador Panelo said Malacañang hopes that the bicameral conference committee would be able to reconcile the conflicting provisions “without prolonged partisan discussion and undue delay.”center_img Early this year, the government was forced to operate on a reenacted budget after Congress failed to pass this year’s budget before 2018 ended following lawmakers’ squabble over alleged insertions. “The Office of the President welcomes this development given that this budget per the Department of Budget and Management, aims to fund programs and projects that will help accelerate investments in public infrastructure, improve anti-poverty measures, and intensify employment generation,” Panelo said. The P3.662-trillion national budget was only signed by President Duterte in April even as he vetoed P95.3 billion worth of items under the Department of Public Works and Highways that were outside the government’s programmed priorities./PNlast_img read more

Deal, Carter are first in Friday Modified qualifiers

first_imgBOONE, Iowa (Sept. 11) – Nick Deal and Cayden Carter led geographically diverse groups of drivers in winning Friday night Modified qualifying features at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.Deal topped the caution-free opener, leading start to finish and taking the checkers three lapped cars ahead of fellow front row starter Ryan McDaniel. Adam Larson was scored third all 25 circuits and Johnny Scott moved into the final transfer spot with six to go.Carter was the third and final different leader in the nightcap at Boone Speedway, running in front the last 15 laps.Ryan Ruter settled into second, 11th starting Jason Cummins was third and Drew Christianson completed the top four.Five different states are represented by the Friday qualifiers. They’ll meet in a Saturday afternoon Rochambeau session in the Fan Zone to determine the starting order on the outside row of the main event.The drivers who have secured starting spots in the big dance thus far hale from 10 different states and two Canadian provinces. Last-chance qualifying completes the field of 33.Larson has now qualified for the main event for the sixth time in his career. Ruter and Christianson are both in for the fourth time, Deal and Cummins for the third.Carter, McDaniel and Scott all start their first Super Nationals Modified main.1st qualifying feature results – 1. Nick Deal, Walnut; 2. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 3. Adam Larson, Ankeny; 4. Johnny Scott, Arroyo Hondo, N.M.; 5. Eric Dailey, Armstrong; 6. Harvey Vande Weerd, Alton; 7. Jim Thies, Mapleton; 8. Jay Steffens, North Platte, Neb.; 9. Tom Charles, Basehor, Kan.; 10. Jason Noll, Peoria, Ariz.; 11. Scott Drake, Joplin, Mo.; 12. Johnny Whitman, DePere, Wis.; 13. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 14. Dustin Smith, Lake City; 15. Mike Mashl, DePere, Wis.; 16. Josh Long, Little Suamico, Wis.; 17. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 18. Tyler Heetland, Bancroft; 19. Michael Albertsen, Audubon; 20. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 21. Scott Davis, Madrid; 22. Mike Petersilie, Hoisington, Kan.; 23. Jeremy Mills, Garner; 24. Mark Schafman, Edwardsville, Kan.; 25. Josh Blumer, Marysville, Kan.; 26. Tim Murty, Tama; 27. Mitchell Hunt, Greenville, Mich.; 28. Jay Noteboom, Hinton; 29. Scotty Bough, Nevada, Mo.; 30. Jay Matthias, Green Bay, Wis.2nd qualifying feature results –  1. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 2. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 3. Jason Cummins, New Richland, Minn.; 4. Drew Christianson, Minot, N.D.; 5. Stormy Scott, Arroyo Hondo, N.M.; 6. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 7. Peyton Taylor, Batesville, Ark.; 8. Josh McGaha, Abilene, Texas; 9. Jeff Emerson, Millsap, Texas; 10. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 11. Clint Homan, Bellevue, Neb.; 12. Corey Lagroon, Salina, Kan.; 13. Steven Bowers Jr., Topeka, Kan.; 14. Nate Caruth, Ames; 15. Jason Murray, Hartford; 16. Regan Tafoya, Farmington, N.M.; 17. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 18. Keith White, Little River Academy, Texas; 19. Jonathan Snyder, Ames; 20. Curtis Cook, Conway, Ark.; 21. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown; 22. Greg Cox, Kellogg; 23. Mike Van Genderen, Newton; 24. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 25. Joel Bushore, Boone; 26. Joe Spillman, Austin, Texas; 27. John Logue, Boone; 28. Curt Lund, Redwood Falls, Minn.; 29. Dana Dankert, Columbus, Neb.; 30. Kyle Brown, State Center.last_img read more